Skip to main content
The Briefโ€บ2027 Race

INEC's governorship lists: what changed in Gombe and Ogun

2027 RaceBy 13 October 2026ยท4 min read

INEC's October final governorship lists leave two previously reported PDP nominees off the published field: Isa Pantami in Gombe and Ladi Adebutu in Ogun. Both are challenging their absence. For readers following the 2027 races, the immediate task is to distinguish a party's nomination announcement from the names in the commission's published document. INEC: Gombe final list ยท INEC: Ogun final list

Gombe: a fresh primary, followed by an omission

On 29 September, TheCable reported that Pantami won the PDP's fresh Gombe governorship primary. The report followed an earlier court-ordered rerun. That is evidence of the party's selection at that point; the later list is a separate publication to check. TheCable, 29 September

Gombe's final document contains 16 governorship tickets and no PDP entry. Its APC ticket pairs Gwamna Jamil Isyaku with Balah Adams. Pantami's name does not appear. The document supplies names and ticket details but does not state a reason for his omission. INEC: Gombe final list

In a letter dated 12 October, Pantami's lawyers demanded that INEC publish his name by Wednesday, 14 October, according to TheCable. Their request is a challenge to the list; it is not evidence that INEC has already amended it. The lawyers' deadline is also distinct from an announcement by the commission. TheCable, 12 October

Ogun: Adebutu disputes his absence

Ogun's final document names 13 governorship tickets, again with no PDP entry. The APC ticket pairs Adeola Solomon Olamilekan with Balogun Kudirat Abiodun. The ADC entry names Lawal Jimi Adebisi and Olutayo Florence Funlola Folake; both rows carry a court-order remark. That remark belongs to those ADC entries and does not explain the missing PDP ticket. INEC: Ogun final list

On 11 October, Adebutu said he remained a registered PDP member and that the party was taking steps to address the omission, Premium Times reported. The same report said INEC had not stated its reasons. His account should therefore be read as his response to the publication, rather than a confirmed correction to it. Premium Times, 11 October

Four state documents, 57 tickets

The four official lists checked for this edition contain 57 governorship tickets. Each pairs a governor candidate with a running mate; deputy candidates do not create extra governorship contests.

Governorship ticket counts in four INEC final lists checked on 13 October 2026
StateGovernorship ticketsOfficial document
Gombe16INEC final list
Ogun13INEC final list
Niger15INEC final list
Nasarawa13INEC final list

This is a four-state check, not a national candidate total. It also does not establish that every other party ticket is free of dispute. The documents tell readers which names are published in these states as checked on 13 October.

What to watch next

For Gombe and Ogun, the next useful evidence would be an amended INEC list, an explanation from the commission, or a published court decision affecting the entries. A campaign's request for reinstatement does not by itself change the document.

Until there is further evidence, describe Pantami and Adebutu as absent from these published lists. The documents alone do not establish that either has withdrawn or been disqualified by a court. Keeping those distinctions visible lets readers follow the dispute without turning an unresolved omission into a settled outcome.

Explore the state races and follow the linked source on each candidate record. Then make your voting plan.

Follow the 2027 elections by email

We send updates about the candidates, including declarations, withdrawals and party changes.

Unsubscribe at any time. We do not sell your email address.